Good work on uncovering the number of Quango’s

Even before I looked into the reasons for the disastrous foot and mouth outbreak at Pirbright in 2007, I’ve been concerned about the democratic deficit of Non Departmental Public Bodies, otherwise known as Quango’s.

It’s no easy task to investigate the activities of Quango’s, their operation, their funding and particularly their costs. As I said, looking deeper into the causes of the foot and mouth virus leak from The Institute of Animal Health’s laboratories at Pirbright was involved and time-consuming.

So, we must thank the good work of the TaxPayer’s Alliance for their latest work: Guide to the UK’s Semi-Autonomous Public Bodies.

I’ve added Public Bodies as a new category to this blog, as I’m keen to see how effective David Cameron is in abolishing quango’s.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.