Duty done, now for a few diversions from politics

We both had our wet weather gear on to walk to the polling station, which is, luckily, not too far from home.

My vote was the first time I placed a cross on the voting paper using my left hand. Haven’t yet got sufficient gripping strength in my right hand. Am capable of one fingered typing, so am back to writing here – intermittently though.

This is the first election in which I’ve not delivered election leaflets. We received an election leaflet from the Green Party, Conservatives, Labour, UKIP, and FIVE leaflets from the Liberal Democrats.

Following this post will be some items offering a diversion from politics. I know I’ll not be able to resist staying up until very, very late to watch the results, the following diversionary posts will keep my mind of the subject, at leat for a short while.

New Leader of Surrey Heath Borough Council elected

Surrey Heath Borough Council annouce that,

Councillor Richard Brooks has been re-elected as leader of Surrey Heath Borough Council. Cllr Brooks was voted in at the Full Council meeting on 15 May, 2019. His appointment follows the Borough Council elections held on 2 May 2019. 


Cllr Brooks, a Conservative who represents Town ward, had previously served as Leader of SHBC since February 2019. Cllr Brooks said: “I am extremely proud to have been asked by my fellow councillors to continue the good work for Surrey Heath Borough Council. I would like to welcome all the new councillors on board, and thank those outgoing councillors who served in the previous term. I look forward to a productive four years, working hard for our Borough.”  


Cllr Charlotte Morley (Watchetts) was appointed Deputy Leader. The final make-up of the Borough Council following the election is: 

18 Conservative  

10 Liberal Democrat 

4 Independent 

2 Green Party 

1 Labour 


The Conservative Party are the largest group on the Council with 18 of the 35 seats, and retain control. Cllr Brooks also announced the new Council Executive at the meeting. The Portfolio Holders are as follows: 

Finance: Cllr Charlotte Morley 

Places & Strategy: Cllr Dan Adams 

Environment & Health: Cllr Vivienne Chapman 

Planning & People: Cllr Adrian Page 

Customer Experience & Digital: Cllr Paul Deach 

Support & Safeguarding: Cllr Josephine Hawkins 


A full list of the Council committee appointments can be seen at https://surreyheath.moderngov.co.uk/ieDocHome.aspx?bcr=1 

Conservatives JUST hang on to control of Surrey Heath Borough Council

The election results is not are now fully declared yet by the Borough Council. Though by my count the Conservatives have won 18 of the 35 seats on the council, and have therefore retained control of the council. My goodness that’s a close run thing.

Surrey Heath Borough Council elections results continue to amaze

At current count, looking at the Council’s election results website the Conservatives have lost 15 seats, from Frimley Green, Heatherside, Mytchett and Deepcut, Bagshot, Windlesham and Chobham, and Lightwater. All previously solid Conservative wards. Only Valerie White, Paul Deach, and Rebecca Jennings Evans are returned for the Conservatives.

Some serious appraisal needed of the reasons for the failures. Too soon for me to give my views

Surrey Heath announce candidates for upcoming Borough and Parish Elections

Surrey Heath Borough Council has announced,

Surrey Heath Borough Council has published the Statement of Persons Nominated for the forthcoming Borough and Parish elections.

The Borough Council elections taking place on Thursday 2 May 2019 will select councillors for all 35 seats on Surrey Heath Borough Council (SHBC).

There will also be Parish Council elections held on the same day for the two of the parishes within the Borough area. Following closure of nominations on Wednesday 3 April two parishes were uncontested, so the candidates are duly elected.

To view all candidates and results of the uncontested Parishes please visit; https://www.surreyheath.gov.uk/candidates

The 2019 elections to Surrey Heath Borough Council

Surrey Heath Borough Council announce borough and parish elections on 2nd May 2019.

The number of councillors to the Borough Council in the 2019 election is 35, whereas it was 40 previously. There is one less councillor in the following wards: St Pauls, Parkside, Frimley, Chobham & Windlesham, and Bisley & West End. Here’s the table of councillor positions for the 2019 election.

Surrey Heath Borough Council has published the Notice of Election for the forthcoming Borough and Parish elections.

The Borough Council elections taking place on Thursday 2 May 2019 will select councillors for all 35 seats on Surrey Heath Borough Council (SHBC).

There will also be Parish Council elections held on the same day for the four parishes within the Borough area.

Nominations are now open to stand in these elections. Candidates have until 4pm on Wednesday 3 April 2019 to deliver their nomination papers. All nomination papers must be delivered by hand to the Returning Officer at SHBC offices in Knoll Road, Camberley.

Potential candidates should contact Democratic Services on 01276 707319 or vote@surreyheath.gov.uk to receive further information or to make an appointment to submit nomination papers.

More information: https://www.surreyheath.gov.uk/borough-and-parish-elections-%E2%80%93-2-may-2019