Some changes in society I’ve spotted

We’ve all seen changes to our lives this year, and the Covid19 cause isn’t yet banished.

Look, I’m no seer talking about changes in our society, it’s just that I’ve seen some changes that I hadn’t expected. The main change I’ve noticed is the number of people walking, whether from their homes to the local shops, or more surprisingly in the local heathland and countryside. I’ve walked or cycled extensively and regularly in our local heathland for more years than I care to tell you. On many occasions I’ve been a solitary walker. So, what a surprise to encounter 30 or more various people in Folly Bog and Brentmoor Heath last Sunday.

This a healthy change I hope is maintained. Some of the greater numbers of walkers I put down to new dog owners, exercising their new puppies.

I wonder if you too have received early Christmas cards, many containing messages and comments about life and meeting up. The practice of giving and receiving cards was on the wane. I wonder if it’s about to become popular again. Although anno domini has made big holes in our Christmas card list. Perhaps not for youngsters, for whom a WhatsApp message or TikTok video is the current vogue.

4 thoughts on “Some changes in society I’ve spotted

  1. I have also noticed the increase in walkers but the only downside of some groups is that you can hear them coming before you see them. I doubt that many of them actually see much wildlife while they march across the countryside.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This large group must be a Ramblers Association club, who believe that 30 are allowed. But they have socially distanced. As I read the current rules only 6 are allowed in an outdoors group.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lightwater retiree & Bernard Baverstock: Thanks guys, valid points, both. Without a photo of my own I clipped this from the internet, it wasn’t what I’ve seen on my walks. It perhaps overstated my case.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.