A miscellany of railwayana No.1: Baker Street tube station

There’s a wonderful British fascination with all things railway related – well there is for some of us.

In the week when the decision on the HS2 railway line from London Euston to Birmingham and beyond could be decided, I’ll post a series of railway related articles.

The first article is about Baker Street London Underground station. It is one of the original stations of the Metropolitan Railway, the world’s first underground railway, opened in 1863.  Here’s an image of the station in 1863 and in 2018. I have @MrTimDunn [travel editor at the @thetrainline] to thank for this combined image.

Should you be so fascinated with Baker Street Underground Station, here’s a video to entertain.

2 thoughts on “A miscellany of railwayana No.1: Baker Street tube station

  1. Not related to the subject but since your recovery I receive 2 copies of all your blogs. I wonder if anyone else has experienced this? Pleased to see you are back in harness and the blogs start my day. Many thanks, Peter Godfrey

    Like

  2. Thank you Peter for your kind words. I’ve spent a while trawling through my blog platform instructions without finding a solution. I’ll email a support expert to find out. Withe every good wish, Tim

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.