Your intrepid reporter visits Waterloo Station to experience the predicted chaos

You, dear readers, will know of my occasional reports on the progress of changes at Waterloo Station. You can read them HERE, in descending date order.

The predicted chaos was nowhere to be seen when I journeyed there last Friday 11th August. Everything was running smoothly. The new platforms in the old International Station were accessed by a new gently rising wide ramp from the main station concourse. You can see the entrance to the ramp to the right of photo 2 in the group below. Comparison with the photos in my May 18th report shows the amount of construction work completed between then and now.

In my previous report of May 18th this year, I said that the deadline for opening the new platforms would be tight. That’s how it turned out. I spoke with a station manager, whom I saw dispensing free bottles of water next to the new platforms [see photo], and asked him about their meeting the deadline date. I asked, “how close, in days?”. He replied “close”. I pressed, “a matter of hours?”, he replied, “close”, and smiled not wanting to be drawn any further. Here are my photos,

 

3 thoughts on “Your intrepid reporter visits Waterloo Station to experience the predicted chaos

  1. Looking at the clock it appears to be 12.17 or thereabouts! Being there between 7.30-9.00 would be a better analysis of what the average commuter would be faced with!

    Like

  2. I think perhaps if you travelled in the rush hour you would have a different experience. My daughter has to catch a train at 07.09 in order to arrive at work on time. Other trains either stop and you need to change at Woking (no chance of a seat) or a much longer journey.

    Free bottle of water perhaps but long queues to get one. Is that any kind of compensation for season ticket holders?

    Like

Leave a Reply

