Le Tour Day 19: My thoughts

I’m a bit late with this, as had a Friday morning meeting. Never mind, I watched an absolutely riveting stage 18 of the Tour de France on ITV4 yesterday.

Gosh, I’m improving in my predictions. Stage 18 turned out pretty close to my thoughts. Yes, there were breakaways, though not that resulted in a stage win. The leaders of the tour stuck together right to the finishing line, with Romain Bardet coming across the line at the same time as Chris Froome. The loser on the stage was Fabio Aru,

It was a stage where Chris Froome could be said to have won the tour, as none of his competitors claimed the tour lead from him, and Saturday’s stage 20, being a time trial, is one where Chris Froome is the best in the Race.

My thought on stage 19,

  • There’ll be breakaways as this is the last stage where teams without a stage win to date can try for that win.
  • I still think Team Sky will want to control the race, maybe even releasing Mikel Landa to claim a podium place – difficult, but a reward for efforts ton the tour to date.
  • The major candidates must be Michael Matthews, a two stage winner so far, Andre Greipel whose team desperately needs a win, and Edvald Boasson Hagen who’s been very close to stage wins.
  • So, who? A sprinter for the win, and therefore Boasson Hagen is my pick.

Leave a Reply

