Le Tour Rest Day 2: My thoughts

No watching of the news on TV on our return from our butterfly walk on Sunday. Then from 7.0 pm on ITV4 I watched the highlights of Stage 15 of the Tour de France.

I’m not sure why I’m bothering to predict anything, as I’m absolutely hopeless at it. The word excitement doesn’t cover the drama of the stage 15.

I thought that Team Sky would attempt to control things and let breakaways happen so long as they weren’t a threat to the lead. This is what happened, but the breakaway was gaining significant time and a threat to the leaders.  Strong teams then attacked to claw back time, just when Chris Froome suffered a puncture and dropped 45 seconds behind.

Superhuman efforts by Chris and a couple of team mates brought him back to the leaders group. Amazingly Chris Froome then led this group of leaders across the finishing line, resulting in the time gaps between the leaders remaining the same. A fantastic effort by Froome, for which third placed man, Romain Bardet, called for respect from the spectators who’d being booing him on the stage.

Useless or not, here are my thoughts for stage 16.

  • The stage is wonderfully set up for a probable long distance breakaway that includes some of the sprinters
  • It’s remains the case that neither BMC nor Dimension Data have yet won a stage. Therefore, I’m thinking that Damiano Caruso of BMC, or Serge Pauwels of Dimension Data could be likely stage winners
  • I hope I’m on safe ground in predicting Chris Froome to retain the lead of the tour.

Leave a Reply

