Le Tour Day 12: My thoughts

Cripes, the Tour de France is on ITV4 from 9.45 am today. I’ll resist the temptation, thank you very much.

I’m agreeing with Chris Boardman – what an intelligent and knowledgeable man he is on all things to do with cycling and cycle racing – that this year’s tour is less exciting than earlier years. Actually, he calls it boring. Whatever, today’s racing will be exciting as it’s a chance for the leadership of the tour to be shaken up in the mountain climbs.

As for my prediction that Marcel Kittel would win yesterday’s stage, I was spot on. It was, however, a close run thing as a breakaway rider from the start of the 200 kilometre stage was only caught 200 metres from the finishing line. Absolutely cruel.

My predictions for the day,

  • Chris Froome to retain his lead of the Tour, though don’t think he’ll win the stage.
  • I wonder if Steve Cummings has the legs to win today. I’ve predicted him as a winner in an earlier stage, maybe this is the one where he’ll come good.
  • I don’t think Chris Froome will let any of his near competitors steal any time from him, no matter how hard Fabio Aru or Roman Bardet try.
  • Finally, my outside bet for the stage win is Warren Barguil, though not by much over Chris Froome, perhaps a minute or two.

Leave a Reply

