Le Tour Day 4: My thoughts

It was just before 2.0 pm yesterday afternoon that I switched on ITV4 for the live coverage of the Tour de France. Following watching for a 10 minutes or so – I managed to then come back to the live coverage after 3.0pm. See, I’m getting better at restricting myself.

About my predictions for the Stage 3 outcome yesterday, I’m pleased I correctly predicted the result of the stage win and overall tour leader. Wasn’t too hard. Peter Sagan was the favourite for the stage, and Geraint Thomas and the sky team weren’t going to let go of the overall lead.

Now, as regards, my prediction for today’s stage, it’s much more difficult. It’s a sprinters stage. The peloton will control the race, keeping breakaways under control. There are many sprinters who’ll consider their chances, Marcel Kittel, obviously, Andre Greipel, Michael Matthews, Arnaud Demare, and Mark Cavendish.

My predictions:

  • Geraint Thomas to retain the overall lead, just. Sky are such a strong team, and Thomas’s desire to retain the lead will ensure that.
  • Stage winner: Mark Cavendish. It’ll be a manic bunch sprint to the line. The winner will be the team best able to control the final 500 metres. This is what Cavendish’s team are good at. Although Kittel’s Quick – Step Floors are also as good.
  • Also, I think there’s every chance of a crash in the final miles, as the teams jostle for advantage.

Leave a Reply

