How will I drag myself away from the TV for the next three weeks?

The Tour de France has everything, sporting prowess, human drama, wonderful scenery, and it’s all on TV. The kind I don’t have to pay a subscription to watch. We pay a TV licence and a subscription to Sky. That’s enough, thank you. This year the race is on ITV4 every day from start to finish – that’s 11.0 am till 4.45 pm, and there’s a summary of the day’s racing from 7.0pm to 8.0pm. Wow, is all I can say. In earlier years the live coverage began at 2.0pm, and the summary was for 30 minutes only.

I’m going to have to limit my TV watching – not sure how I’ll do this, but I must try.

Back to the Tour. It began yesterday with a time trial. Amazingly a Brit – Geraint Thomas – won the stage and is now leader of the Tour. The drama came with three crashes, riders going too fast into a sharp corner. Result, two had to abandon their campaigns’ through injury, with one, Alejandro Valverde, being one of the potential leaders.

With my novice, and undoubtedly cycling naivete, thoughts on the race, I predict for day 2;

  • Geraint Thomas to retain the Yellow Jersey, and possibly for a few more days top come.
  • Mark Cavendish to attempt a stage win. He has the team to help him achieve it, though will have battle past Marcel Kittel and Andre Griepel.

Leave a Reply

