Painting of the week No.18: Garden with Blue Terrace by David Hockney, 2015

Why, oh why, did I bother to call it Painting of the Week, when I’ve signally failed to deliver just 18 since 2009.  I guess it’s because for each such painting I must have seen it up close, which sort of limits the choice, and I’m also rather picky in my choices.

Never mind. I visited the David Hockey exhibition at Tate Britain in February this year, and to date haven’t posted a painting from that exhibition as a Painting of the Week. I found the Paul Nash exhibition, on at the same time at Tate Britain, more appealing, probably because the crowds were fewer. The volume of visitors detracted from the Hockney exhibition experience, not allowing time to contemplate the paintings, especially so for the large artworks.

Hockney’s creative range, and the ability to reinvent himself, is part of what makes him such an outstanding artist. I particularly liked the large paintings, though appreciated his adventure in experimenting with photography, film, and iPad and iPhone work. The Hockney retrospective exhibition, the Guardian reports, is the Tate Britain’s most popular exhibition.

See more about David Hockney at Hockney Pictures, and The Guardian.

Leave a Reply

