Every town and city needs one of these

Indulge me please. It’s the still the New Year, and my mind is full of aspirations for this blog.

I’d like this blog to approach the professionalism of IanVisits. That’s the ‘these’ I’m referring to. Ian Mansfield describes the aims of his website as,

An events calendar in which he says he tries “to list the heritage open days, walking tours and mostly, the astonishing array of free (or cheap) lectures that the societies and universities of London provide.”

“I tend to write about London’s heritage, transport, architecture, and offbeat geeky events that are taking place. The more obscure the better.”

I particularly like his blog posts about transport and quirky events. Here are two examples,

Yes, yes, I know Ian is based in London and therefore has a rich source of material. What I like is his layout. In my humble blog, while there’s something new most days, it’s a diary format. In Ian’s format items of interest aren’t lost.

I’ve work to do this year to progress my blog towards Ian’s style. Click on image to link to IanVisits.

ianvisits-website

Leave a Reply

