Things I know I don’t know, and things I don’t know but probably should know

There are subjects that I know I don’t know, such as quantum mechanics, astrophysics, and fluid dynamics to name three.

There are things that I think I should probably know, but don’t know. One of these things cropped up recently while on the wondrous internet.

hocw17I happened on this article about two ancient objects – Two boundary markers. From Athens, Greece. Circa 500 BCE. The article was about objects 16 and 17 from A History of the Classical World in 100 Objects by Emily Hauser.

It was the words “Circa 500 BCE” that sparked my curiosity. What does BCE mean? I know, like most people, what BC and AD mean, but BCE – hmmm, me clueless. So, another Google. Phew, see HERE, or HERE for the answer.

Here’s what I’ve now learned,

These stones, … are also reminders of the radical social reforms which swept Athens in the early 6th century BCE, presaging the advent of an entirely new kind of political system – democracy.

and that,

It seems historians use the term Common Era as a secular alternative to the terms “BC” and “AD”, which have a Christian relevance. BCE means Before Common Era and is the same as BC, While CE, meaning Common Era, is the same as AD.

So, now I know two things.

3 thoughts on “Things I know I don’t know, and things I don’t know but probably should know

  1. What a fount of education the blogs are, as well as local news. But without looking at the links, I have a question, why is BC in English and AD in Latin ?

    Like

  2. Thank you for that, ante incarnationis dominicae tempus is quite a mouthful, so better to stick with BC !!

    Like

Leave a Reply

