Watching a film set construction at Albury Bottom on Chobham Common

While researching a boundary stone in the Longcross car park in Chobham Common, I spotted a notice about it being closed for two days [Mon-Tues – 24th & 25th October].

Closed for filming the notice said. I saw smoke rising on the common, some distance away. Being curious I wandered down to Albury Bottom to see what what happening. Well, quite a lot really. The film set construction involved digging a deep trench, and also clearing scrub by burning.

Forgive me here, because I probably know nothing, but I thought the area was classified triple SI – SSSI, which restricts unnecessary construction activity. I imagine the film company acquired permission, and no doubt they paid handsomely for the privilege. Here are my photos of the works.

One thought on “Watching a film set construction at Albury Bottom on Chobham Common

Leave a Reply

