A week of tributes to Prince Buster in Madness songs, Day 1: The Prince

I’ve been thinking about what it is that defines my eclectic musical taste. I like grand opera, heavy metal rock, ska, and other stuff too. I don’t find any satisfaction in listening to limp pop music. My conclusion is that music that energy, inasmuch in the delivery as the music, is one of the main reasons.

Enough of the introspection, the point of this post is the tribute that ska music band Madness give to Prince Buster, their musical inspiration. Madness’ performances fit exactly into my enjoyment of ‘energy’. This week there’ll be a Madness song each day.

The first song is Madness’ song The Prince, their breakthrough hit of 1979, performed here on TOTP.

Leave a Reply

