Need to tell you what I saw on a heathland walk

Nothing to worry about – just a prosaic report, that’s all.

This week I walked from Lightwater to Deepcut. It was mostly on the track alongside the perimeter fence of the Bisley and Pirbright ranges. I know I’ve frequently written here about this walk. About the flora in Folly Bog, the views from Hangmoor Hill and Chobham ridges, and maintenance given to the heathland.

Twas a nice sunny day for my walk. Not dry enough underfoot for an adventure down into Folly Bog, which looked – well you know, boggy.

I spotted friends on the track, quick rush up to chat to them, and onwards to my goal. They’d branched off to get back into Lightwater. I saw bonfire smoke near the track by The Folly, recognising that essential heathland maintenance was ongoing [must go and investigate what’s been done – on another day]. This work was confirmed when I passed part of the heathland stripped of the unwanted scrub. In a year or two there’ll be heather to enjoy.

Further on the view from Chobham Ridges are a joy. How wonderful it would be to walk down the gentle slopes. Sadly the unexploded ordnance would soon likely see the end of me. Finally, nearing Colony Gate – at the junction of Old Bisley Road and the Maultway – I saw that all the grasses and scrub had been mowed. Excellent, as it promotes native spring wild flowers. Here are my photos of the walk. Click on them to expand.

Leave a Reply

