Almost got a mesmerising photo – almost being the key word

Please bear with me, this is an odd story.

Somehow, not sure how, I happened on a bit of recent Twitter outrage in Singapore. A photo competition organised by Nikon – the camera maker – in Singapore selected as competition winner an interesting photo of an aircraft supposedly flying above a ladder in Chinatown. Problem was that the aircraft was added into the photo afterwards, and not very well done either, as photographers soon spotted the fraud. See photo below.

Screengrab-from-Nikon-Singapores-Facebook-page

Last week we visited the Dulwich Picture Gallery, somewhere I’ve wanted to visit for a long, long time. Yes, I’m a bit of an arty culture-vulture. Though not so much that it stops me for stopping for lunch, which we did at the Picture Gallery Café. I recommend it – good food at reasonable prices.

I’m getting to the story. We sat at a table under a glass ceiling. While sitting there I remembered the photo fraud, and wondered whether I’d be lucky to see an aircraft overhead. Camera phone placed in readiness. Yipee, I saw a low flying aircraft overhead – presumably Heathrow bound.  The aircraft disappeared from view before I’d even swiped my iPhone. Boohoo. And not long later another aircraft passed directly overhead. Would have been a brilliant photo if I’d managed to take it in the couple of seconds that the aircraft took to fly through my field of view. Here’s my photo, less an aircraft of course.

View from Dulwich Picture Gallery Cafe

One thought on “Almost got a mesmerising photo – almost being the key word

Leave a Reply

