The joy of looking at old maps and stuff on roads

This is about one of the nine library books that I’ve read ……. I don’t think I need to explain further about the circumstances, as you’ll no doubt have read about my earlier reports.

Old map of Surrey HeathThis book published by the AA, Mapping the Roads by Mike Parker, is a fascinating telling of the story of Britain’s roads. In relating the story graphically through our rich heritage of maps, the author concludes, as you and I would naturally too, that the car perhaps more than any other factor has changed our landscape and maps forever.

I don’t know about you, but I struggle to read a book logically from cover to cover when it contains hundreds of maps, photos, and cartoons. I just get diverted from the text by the images.

The book lists some website sources on road maps and roads. Here are some that I found fun in a geeky sort of way.

  • SABRE – a simply phenomenal source of old maps, and stuff.
  • Hipkiss Scanned Old Maps – A collector puts his old maps online, plus an extensive links library
  • CBRD [Chris’s British Road Directory] – Dedicated to the study of the entire road network of mainland Britain.
  • Cartography Unchained – Research papers on all aspects of cartography from the period pre AD1600.

I think that’s enough to entertain

Leave a Reply

