It’s Groundhog Day today

800px-Groundhogday2005I haven’t seen that the film Groundhog Day is scheduled for showing this week. I think it’s one of Bill Murray’s best film performances.

Curious data: It’s reckoned that there are 38 separate days in the film.

I like the part of the film when the Groundhog, Punxsutawney Phil, is introduced as the ‘prognosticator of prognosticators’ on the arrival of spring. It’s the unusual names, such as Punxsutawney, and Gobbler’s Knob, and a Groundhog that amuses me. Anyway, it’s Groundhog day today.

2 thoughts on “It’s Groundhog Day today

  1. Otherwise known as Candlemas. “If Candlemas be fair and bright, Winter will have another flight. If at Candlemas it be shower and rain, Winter is gone and will not come again”. As my daughter commented, they’re hedging their bets today.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.