Stocked up on library books now that Camberley Library is closed till end of Feb 2016

That’s it, Camberley Library closed till the end of February 2016.

I visited today to return a book. I asked what was the procedure as the library was closing for three months, to be told I could take out up to 20 books that didn’t need to be returned till the reopening. Yippee.

I took nine. A right mixture. Three must read novels, a spy novel, three books on improving my photographic abilities, the story of Britain’s roads, and Paul Atterbury’s favourite British railway journeys. I’ve also just acquired Charles Moore’s volume 2 of the authorised biography of Margaret Thatcher – more about this later.

Here’s my list,

  • The three worthies: All Quiet on the Western Front by Erich Remarque; The Diary of a Provincial Lady by E.M. Delafield; and John Buchan’s The 39 Steps.
  • Photography improvement: Photography Beyond Auto by Chris Gatcum; 101 Top Tips for Black & White Digital Photography by John Beardsworth; and The Complete Digital Photo Manual by the Digital Photo Magazine.
  • Spy novel: The Little Drummer Girl by John le Carré.
  • Travel: Favourite Railway Journeys by Paul Atterbury
  • General interest: Mapping the Roads – Building Modern Britain by Mike Parker.

I haven’t added up the total number of pages. I’m estimating many thousands. The John le Carré is over 650. So, I’m starting with two paperbacks, All Quiet on the Western Front at just under 200 pages, and then The 39 Steps at a mite over 250 pages.

Leave a Reply

