I write in blue ink, though am tempted by V-Pen’s violet ink, but never green ink

It might sound odd that I’ve a V-Pen Fountain Pen in the inside pocket of all my jackets, and no I’m not telling you how many I have..

Apart from good memories and a badge, there’s one other thing that remains from my being a Mayor of the borough some three or four years ago. How so. Well, Sarah the wonderful mayor’s pa saw me signing letters with my fountain Pilot V-Penpen, which worked less than perfectly. She very kindly bought me a couple of packs of Pilot V-Pen Fountain Pens. They’re wonderful. Work immediately the cap is removed, do not leak, and reputedly, though I’ve not tested it, the ink is erasable.

Smart people that you are, you’ll have quickly come to the conclusion that they’re all likely to run out around the same time. True. Now.

I looked in Camberley’s WHSmith for replacements, and found none. Time to look online. Wow, not only are there pens with blue ink, and black ink ones, which I strongly dislike – I like colour, they’ve got violet, orange, red, pink, and two shades of green. I’ll certainly get the blue ink replacements, and might even try a violet one. Never ever though in either shade of green.

A Pocket Book article by Andy Gryce explains some of the history of the use of green ink,

Long before green ink became associated with oddball behaviour, Sir George Mansfield Smith-Cumming, the former Royal Navy officer who established the Secret Intelligence Service (SIS), commonly known as MI6, and became its first head in 1909, signed all his correspondence with his final initial, C, in green ink.  His successors continued with the tradition, and this includes the current incumbent Sir John Sawers.  Sir George was apparently an eccentric man who revelled in the secrecy and glamour of espionage, so perhaps there is a connection with the green ink brigade.  My only encounter with green ink, though I do have a green ink Pilot V disposable fountain pen that I have yet to use, ….

One thought on “I write in blue ink, though am tempted by V-Pen’s violet ink, but never green ink

  1. Green is for auditors and sometimes Red for bankers!! Regards   Mike R From: Lightwater To: mjr19chr@yahoo.co.uk Sent: Friday, 20 November 2015, 17:05 Subject: [New post] I write in blue ink, though am tempted by V-Pen’s violet ink, but never green ink #yiv7801486824 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv7801486824 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv7801486824 a.yiv7801486824primaryactionlink:link, #yiv7801486824 a.yiv7801486824primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv7801486824 a.yiv7801486824primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv7801486824 a.yiv7801486824primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv7801486824 WordPress.com | timdodds posted: “It might sound odd that I’ve a V-Pen Fountain Pen in the inside pocket of all my jackets, and no I’m not telling you how many I have..Apart from good memories and a badge, there’s one other thing that remains from my being a Mayor of the borough some ” | |

    Like

Leave a Reply

