A visit to Tetbury and Chavenage amuses

Seems I missed out on some fun when I couldn’t join my wife on a visit to the Cotswolds market town of Tetbury and nearby 400 year old Chavenage country house.

Tetbury derived its wealth from the wool trade in the middle ages, and its yellow-hewed Market House, built in 1655 was designed for the sale of wool and yarn. The feature event of the day was a visit to Chavenage, with a member of the Lowsley-Williams family enchanting my wife with anecdotes about its history. Seems like I’ll have to visit this house and its quirky contents myself. Here’s my wife’s brief photo record of the day out.

Leave a Reply

