Yet another wonderful verse of poetry

The previous blog post written yesterday evening to appear early this morning. Having completed my blog I switched on the TV to see the last few minutes of Question Time on BBC1, just as Peter Hitchens began to quote from A.E.Housman’s poem A Shropshire Lad, published in 1896.

Hitchens said he was proud that his schooling enabled him to remember and quote poem number XL [40] ‘The Land of Lost Content’, from A Shropshire Lad.  Here it is, in all it’s beauty.

Into my heart an air that kills

From yon far country blows:

What are those blue remembered hills,

What spires, what farms are those?

That is the land of lost content,

I see it shining plain,

The happy highways where I went

And cannot come again.

And by way of repairing my ommission in my previous blog. Here’s the link to Cargoes by John Masefield.

2 thoughts on “Yet another wonderful verse of poetry

Leave a Reply

