Speech writing for a civic reception

Blogging has taken second place to event planning and the need to write a speech for a civic reception.

I’ve attended quite a few events where I’ve had to speak, sometimes this has been impromptu, and other times I’ve had the chance to make a few notes before hand. Always a touch nervous, but they’ve all gone well.

However, this event requires a proper speech from me, and so I’ve had to organise my thoughts and find something interesting to say. As many people have done in the past, I’ve found a short and pithy quote of Winston Churchill to give some structure to my speech.

I’ll be delivering the speech at the evening’s Mayor reception to celebrate community spirit in Bagshot, Lightwater, and Windlesham. This event is the first in a series of mini civic receptions in the Borough to thank those who freely give of their time, commitment and financial support to voluntary organisations.

We’ve close on 100 guests, and some entertainment to amuse them – a photographer, my speech, musical performance, a poetry recital, and an interesting tale about the church hall, which is our venue. I’ll reveal all on Friday, including the Churchill quotation, and tell you how the event went.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.