Just deer and me among the flowering bog plants

Almost true. A mountain biker and a couple of dog walkers were all that interrupted my afternoon walk over Brentmoor Heath and Folly Bog. The deer appeared near me at Folly Bog, looked, and then loped off and disappeared. I bet there’s many a human who wished they could do that.

Accompanying me were my trusty camera and the Mitchell Beazley pocket guide to Wild Flowers. No matter how much I studied this little book, with its over 1,ooo illustrated wild flower species, I didn’t manage to identify the flowering plants in Folly Bog. Goes to show the huge level of plant diversity. I had to refer to Natural England’s description of the flora of Colony Bog, and Folly Bog. They were the Early Marsh OrchidDactylorhiza incarnate, and the Common Cotton Grass – Eriophorum angustifolium. Here are some photos of my walk [click to enlarge any photo].

Leave a Reply

