A happy ending to my Paddock Wood Girls Finishing School project

Earlier this year I recounted the story of an intriguing part of Lightwater’s past, and one that affected me. Lightwater was the home of the highly regarded Paddock Wood Girls Finishing School. It closed in the early 1980′s and houses were built in its grounds [I live in one of those houses, hence the connection].

My interest was aroused because some of the school buildings survive, now converted into up-market apartments, and some of the attractive gardens remain. I dug out the school’s history, published on this blog, and to my surprise received comments from about 30 past students, from around the world, looking to re-establish contact with one another.

Pippa AndersonMy challenge to myself was to facilitate this contact. Rather wonderfully I met a local past student, who’s keen to be the worldwide contact point. She is Pippa Anderson, and can be contacted at pippa.anderson@me.com. The picture shows what Pippa is committing too. Good luck Pippa.

Rather than repeat the story here, you can, through my blog posts, see how the project unfolded:

Pippa has, with terrier like skill and perseverance, collected a good deal more information and photographs, and as she says, there are “whispers of a reunion - what fun”. A happy story, don’t you think, with a happy ending.

One thought on “A happy ending to my Paddock Wood Girls Finishing School project

  1. Brilliant again Tim! Thank you for the ‘happy ending’ though I somehow doubt it is an ending as I’m sure girls from all around the world will still continue to contact you and you put them in touch with me – thank you, thank you once again for all your help without which, 60 students wouldn’t have formed my Former Students of Paddock Wood Association! You’re a star, thank you!

Leave a Reply

